A friend once told me that blogging is an important part of expressing one’s ideas. 

They also told me that it’s something that no graduate student should be without. I didn’t really pay much attention to the idea of blogging at the time as I didn’t think anyone would be interested in hearing my thoughts.

Fast forward another semester and the idea of blogging resurfaced when I listened to my professor adamantly enforce his opinion on something that I consider to be infinitesimal to the greater challenges of higher learning. However it was their class and their rules meaning that there was little that I could really do about it. 

“Political correctness is a doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by the mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.”

– R.J Wiedemann, Lt. Col. USMC Ret.

After that class I toyed with the idea of blogging. I figured that while I could be silenced by a professor in a classroom I couldn’t be silenced on a blogging platform. That idea intruigued me.

It was only then that I realized my friend’s advice was sound. The unbridled freedom that blogging permits allows for virtually any thought to be expressed. Being a graduate student means reading a tremendous amount of material, which also means that you should be chalked full of ideas just waiting for the right platform to be expressed. Why not blog?

